INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Looking for docs on how the alignment module is implemented.

• Thank you received: 0
I am reading the code trying to reverse engineer the algorithms used. Reading code sucks. I find docs on how to use it but not how it works.

Thanks!
8 months 2 weeks ago #94721

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

If you can share what you're trying to do exactly then we can probably offer more help.
8 months 2 weeks ago #94727

My long tern goal is to learn to help rather than ask for help, My short term goal is to get Ekos to control my CGX mount. I'm brand new to astrophotography so I'm learning everything at once. So part of what I see as problems may just be my bad expectations about how the system should behave. There is clearly an interaction between Ekos tabs and Celestron_aux driver. The driver depends on the alignment module and the aux code which is what actually talks to the mount.

So here is my immediate question. I can "sync" the mount to a location, say Polaris, so the mount knows its current position (encoder values) map to this particular (RA,DEC). I can save this config as the parking position and the mount will reliably slew to this spot on Park. Cool. Now with no other alignment done, I think I could use Kstars to select and 'goto' another (RA,DEC). My expectation is
1. Kstars says to the controller 'goto RA2, DEC2.
2. The controller knows it is at RA1, Dec1 so, to go to RA2 DEC2 it computes the change in RA and DEC to get to RA2,DEC2.
3. The controller says to the mount, thru aux command, to rotate RA by delta-RA and DEC by delta-DEC.
4. The mount knows how many encoder steps per delta-angle so it happily applies the delta-RA and delta-DEC.
Of course the position is close, but not the real location because the single synced position is only roughly aligned manually during setup.