INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

Poor guiding results with Losmandy mount

• Thank you received: 11
I have two different Losmandy Gemini mounts and I've tried guiding with both using the internal guider. I see to only be able to get around 1.5 RMS combined and often it is considerably worse. I'm not sure if there is something I have set up incorrectly or what. I have never tried guiding before and would rather not have to try PHD2.

Both mounts seem to perform poorly with guiding. I have tried a wide variety of calibration and guiding settings but nothing seems to help.

I am using an ASI220MM guide camera with an off axis guider. The scope is 740 mm in FL.

Here is what the calibration looks like when pointed midway up in the eastern sky. It is generally even worse when pointed to the meridian and celestial equator as recommended.

Here is an example of the guiding I get after that calibration:

Here are my settings (but I've tried lots of variations)

Any thought on what I can try? On the Losmandy forums people talk of concisely getting 0.6" RMS. I'm nowhere near close to that.
8 months 1 week ago #94827
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Thank you received: 566
Bill,

Guiding is a tricky thing as there can be many reasons why things aren't working well (sky, hardware, configuration).
In another thread I recently posted my usual settings:
indilib.org/forum/general/13595-guiding-setup.html#94250
You should probably start by copying me.

Looking at what you posted, there are a few things that call out to me.
1- Calibration: When you calibrate, allow up to 10 sample points--10 are better than 3.
1b- Similarly your pulse 1500ms is probably way too large--you're going like 10 pixels per pulse. Lower it until you go 2 or 3 pixels per pulse.