×

INDI Library v2.0.7 is Released (01 Apr 2024)

Bi-monthly release with minor bug fixes and improvements

FIXED* -DO NOT UPDATE the ESATTO Firmware - FIXED in latest INDI GITHUB release.

  • Posts: 24
  • Thank you received: 3
I did : using an Esatto 3 device, which embeds the latest firmware (named as 03-03-07), and the indi_esatto_focus driver. Everything (but the temperature report) is OK. For temperature, I am not sure the issue is software-related, maybe my external sensor has some trouble. But all the main functionalities are up and running.
However, I have not tested with a SestoSenso type of focuser.
Thanks a lot.

Dahu
1 year 4 months ago #89128

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 105
  • Thank you received: 23
Hi Jasem,

With sesto senso2 I still have the problem that the driver crashes. This is what I find in the log file:

[2022-12-18T15:42:39.587 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Sesto Senso 2 : "[DEBUG] <REQ> {\"req\":{\"get\":{\"MOT1\":{\"ABS_POS\":\"\"}}}} "
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.623 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Sesto Senso 2 : "[DEBUG] <RES> {\"res\":{\"get\":{\"MOT1\":{\"ABS_POS\":0}}}} "
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.623 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Sesto Senso 2 : "[DEBUG] <REQ> {\"req\":{\"get\":{\"MOT1\":\"\"}}} "
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.700 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Sesto Senso 2 : "[DEBUG] <RES> {\"res\":{\"get\":{\"MOT1\":{\"SUBMODEL\":\"SESTOSENSO2\",\"NTC_T\":\"32.49\",\"BKLASH\":0,\"CAL_STATUS\":\"stop\",\"CAL_MAXPOS\":172541,\"CAL_BKLASH\":100,\"CAL_MINPOS\":0,\"CAL_HOMEP\":1000,\"CAL_NUMOF\":0,\"CAL_DIR\":\"normal\",\"LASTDIR\":0,\"HOLDCURR_STATUS\":1,\"COMPENSATI "
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.855 CET INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos.focus] - "Idle."
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.867 CET INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos] - "Sesto Senso 2 focuser is online."
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.917 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Removing device "Sesto Senso 2"
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.919 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - INDIListener: Removing device "Sesto Senso 2"
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.919 CET INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos] - "Sesto Senso 2 is offline."
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.920 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - Removing managed driver "Ekos Remote Host"
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.922 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.indi] - INDIListener: Removing client manager for server localhost @ 7624
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.922 CET DEBG ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos] - Resetting Ekos Manager...
[2022-12-18T15:42:39.930 CET INFO ][ org.kde.kstars.ekos] - "INDI services stopped."

As you can see the last json response is truncated. I don't think this is caused by the indi driver. The fixes I posted before worked around this problem for SPEED and ABS_POS
by requesting only the information (ABS_POS or SPEED) that was really needed instead of requesting all information on MOT1 and extracting in the indi driver the parameters of interest.
I think this is needed here as well.

Hope this helps,
Camiel
1 year 4 months ago #89129

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ok I would need remote access to eliminate any other possibilities
1 year 4 months ago #89130

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 105
  • Thank you received: 23
Hi Jasem,
There are two things that need to be changed for sesto senso2 to work. First, the method to select one of the motor presets should be:

bool SestoSenso2::applyMotorPreset(const std::string &name)
{
return m_Communication->command(MOT_NONE, {{"RUNPRESET", name}});
}

And the method getting the motor settings works when it reads as follows:

bool SestoSenso2::getMotorSettings(MotorRates &rates, MotorCurrents &currents, bool &motorHoldActive)
{
//json jsonRequest = {{"req", {{"get", {{"MOT1", ""}}}}}};
json jsonRequest = {{"req", {{"get", {{"MOT1", { {"FnRUN_ACC",""}, {"FnRUN_DEC",""}, {"FnRUN_SPD",""}, {"FnRUN_CURR_ACC",""}, {"FnRUN_CURR_DEC",""}, {"FnRUN_CURR_SPD",""}, {"FnRUN_CURR_HOLD",""}, {"HOLDCURR_STATUS",""} } }}}}}};
json jsonResponse;

if (m_Communication->sendRequest(jsonRequest, &jsonResponse))
{
jsonResponse["get"]["MOT1"]["FnRUN_ACC"].get_to(rates.accRate);
jsonResponse["get"]["MOT1"]["FnRUN_DEC"].get_to(rates.decRate);
jsonResponse["get"]["MOT1"]["FnRUN_SPD"].get_to(rates.runSpeed);

jsonResponse["get"]["MOT1"]["FnRUN_CURR_ACC"].get_to(currents.accCurrent);
jsonResponse["get"]["MOT1"]["FnRUN_CURR_DEC"].get_to(currents.decCurrent);
jsonResponse["get"]["MOT1"]["FnRUN_CURR_SPD"].get_to(currents.runCurrent);
jsonResponse["get"]["MOT1"]["FnRUN_CURR_HOLD"].get_to(currents.holdCurrent);
int tmp;
jsonResponse["get"]["MOT1"]["HOLDCURR_STATUS"].get_to(tmp);
motorHoldActive = ( tmp == 1 );
return true;
}
return false;
}
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jasem Mutlaq
1 year 4 months ago #89156

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Thanks! I pushed the changes as you suggested, can you please verify now?
1 year 4 months ago #89162

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 105
  • Thank you received: 23
Hi Jasem, it works now.

Regards,
Camiel
1 year 4 months ago #89170

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 34
  • Thank you received: 1
Is there someone who could help aid me in adding these fixes to my Astroberry installation? My Sesto Senso 2 is just sitting there, unused.
1 year 3 months ago #89300

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 201
  • Thank you received: 18
How well does the new backlash routine in the firmware work? I’m guessing that one has to quantify the backlash by making small movements until the HFR starts to move having just changed direction and then enter the number of steps it took into the backlash parameter in the indi control panel. Is this correct and having done so will the linear one pass focus routine work? I find it doesn’t with the prior version of the firmware. I’d just jump in and mess with it but I am shipping my Esatto to primalucelab to replace the electronics which failed for no obvious reason.
1 year 3 months ago #89530

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 239
  • Thank you received: 38
The way I figure out the backlash setting is bring something into focus more or less.

Use Polynomial focus routine. The focuser will go out 2 times, then go in a few times. I put in a backlash value that lines up the in movement with the two out movements. This may take a few times to get the plots lined up so the backlash is close to the optimal value.

Once you have the back lash setting setup, then you can use any of the other focus methods like Linear 1 pass.
1 year 3 months ago #89531

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 239
  • Thank you received: 38
The way I figure out the backlash setting is bring something into focus more or less.

Use Polynomial focus routine. The focuser will go out 2 times, then go in a few times. I put in a backlash value that lines up the in movement with the two out movements. This may take a few times to get the plots lined up so the backlash is close to the optimal value.

Once you have the back lash setting setup, then you can use any of the other focus methods like Linear 1 pass.
1 year 3 months ago #89532

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 239
  • Thank you received: 38
The way I figure out the backlash setting is bring something into focus more or less.

Use Polynomial focus routine. The focuser will go out 2 times, then go in a few times. I put in a backlash value that lines up the in movement with the two out movements. This may take a few times to get the plots lined up so the backlash is close to the optimal value.

Once you have the back lash setting setup, then you can use any of the other focus methods like Linear 1 pass.
1 year 3 months ago #89533

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • Posts: 239
  • Thank you received: 38
The way I figure out the backlash setting is bring something into focus more or less.

Use Polynomial focus routine. The focuser will go out 2 times, then go in a few times. I put in a backlash value that lines up the in movement with the two out movements. This may take a few times to get the plots lined up so the backlash is close to the optimal value.

Once you have the back lash setting setup, then you can use any of the other focus methods like Linear 1 pass.
1 year 3 months ago #89534

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.991 seconds